About the Department

Head of Department’s Welcome

Welcome to the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at The University of Melbourne.

The Department has one of the largest chemical engineering programs in Australia with more than 200 students enrolled in the undergraduate chemical engineering major and a further 100 students studying within our Masters programs. In addition more than 60 higher degree research students are currently undertaking research within the Department’s world-leading research groups.

Two Masters programs are currently offered within the Department. The traditional Chemical Engineering program, includes elective subjects such as Carbon Capture and Storage, and Minerals, Materials and Recycling, which provide an excellent preparation for working within the Australian resources sector.

The Department also offers a program which has a Biochemical engineering focus. Drawing on the international research expertise of staff of the Department, the Biochemical program offers subjects including Bioprocess Engineering, Tissue Engineering and Fermentation Processes. This background prepares students well for careers in the food or pharmaceutical industries.

Staff of the Department have won many international awards recognizing excellence and innovation in research and education. In recent years academic staff have won such awards as the Prime Minister’s Award for Science, the Victoria Prize (twice) and the Frank Morton Medal for innovation and excellence in chemical engineering education. Our students are also high achievers, with two Rhodes Scholars having emerged from the Department and student teams taking out the prize for the best Design Project within Australasia four times in the last ten years.

During their studies students have the opportunity to undertake an industry-based internship, to study with one of the Department’s world class research groups, or to take part in an international exchange program with one of our leading exchange partners including Imperial College London (UK), Tsinghua University (China) and the University of Texas (US).

Professor Sandra Kentish
Head of Department